A New Year’s Resolution (or two)

It’s definitely that time of year for everyone to make their New Year’s resolutions and make the “attempt” to keep them. I read somewhere that you need to do something for five weeks in order to make it habit. So, regardless of what you’re trying to do, stick with it for at least that long if you plan to make it a part of your routine!

Wanna know mine? Click for more!

As for me? I’ve got the typical personal list:

  • Lose 25-30 pounds.
  • Get into better physical shape.
  • Run a 10k.
  • Eat out less.
  • Eat healthier.
  • Be more organized.
  • Get straight A’s in grad school.

And so on, and so on. I think out of those, my main resolution is a healthier lifestyle. I can do it, and I have done it. I just get lazy. I used to be a full-time musical theatre actor. Doing shows that involve dancing 6-8 shows each week, I was in pretty good shape, and I ate well, too. I’ve moved on from full-time acting, but I need to keep that healthy mindset. It’ll get there.

I know what you’re saying, “Thes, shut up about your personal life already! We wanna know how your resolutions are going to help us and the community!!”

Alright, alright…I’ll get to the good stuff.

Community Presence

I plan on being a more active part of the Star Wars: The Old Republic community than I was in the WoW community. I was active enough in WoW, but I could’ve gone farther. I could’ve blogged more. I could’ve been more active on my friends’ blogs. Stuff like that.

Thus, here are some things you’re likely to see from me this coming year:

  1. A more active blog – Even if I can’t release substantial posts all the time, I hope to get something up between once and twice a week. New posts will range between small thoughts and opinions to my notoriously over-edited soapbox novels. Anything you’d like to see? You can always email me or comment on what you’d like.
  2. More active on other blogs – I absolutely love getting feedback and comments on my blog. However, I’ve been really bad at returning the favor. That’s going to change. I’m going to be increasing and adding to my blogroll (a post on that later in the week). I’ll have a section for the big sites like DarthHater and Ask A Jedi, but I’m going to be focused more on the smaller independent blogs. My plan is to be more active on friend blogs, helping to build that community.

So, that’s it. I also hope to be a bit more accurate with theory-crafting and mechanic analysis. I’m not a big numbers guy, but I’m hoping to have some more informative posts for you in regards to mechanics. I’m not intending to the be “go-to” place for theory-crafting, but I’m aiming to have some numbers to back up my posts, where applicable.

As my co-worker likes to say: “Ta ta toodles!” What are your New Years Resolutions? Please feel free to share in the comments!

Leave a Reply

